top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlice's World

Depression/ptsd meet manic depression/bi polar disorder

Contrary to the popular belief... Someone that struggles with PTSD and depression may not be the greatest of friend to someone that also has mental health issues. Here's why.... and if you think this is heartless you may unfriend me that's fine...

Let's say an individual has had some form of depression most of their life. They struggle on a regular basis to keep their head above water. But they've pretty much found good ways to cope and they're doing better now than they did years ago but still they know that they have a breaking point.


Let's introduce a person into their life that wants to be there friend. Let's say that person has manic depression and bi polar disorder. Yes these two people have some things in common. But sometimes one person or the other will get to a point where they feel like keeping the friendship is no longer healthy for their own well being. As much as they want to be nice. Sometimes the other persons mental health issues are so severe... like dire situation serious... that it brings that other persons mood down and they become stressed because of their own mood and trying to help lift up the other persons mood and calm that other person down or talk them through something.


Sometimes it's like oil and water. We have to look out for our own well being. Doesn't mean we're heartless. Sometimes certain communication with people isn't in the best interest. If we ourselves try so hard to be happy, trying to be friends and communicate with someone that has severe manic depression or panic attacks or emotional issues constantly... it puts our own mood off kilter. It becomes a toxic friendship.


If someone only reaches out to you and tells you about their abuse (family/spouse etc) and they don't get help and they constantly come to you in a panic state..and they don't want to talk about anything 'happy' or 'joyful'. and you yourself also struggle with depression... it gets to a point where you have to distance yourself.


As a suicide survivor and long time self harm struggler... trying to be friends with someone that currently and constantly has manic depression/bi polar/psychiatric or other sever mental health issues... to me in my mind is not something I can deal with or even try to help. I know from past experience it drains me and wears me out.


I want to surround myself with positive people. It doesn't have to be positive 24/7 but... also doesn't constantly say that they're being abused... cause if i'm being truthful..it makes me feel as an individual uncomfortable and helpless.


I don't hate you. I don't think you're a horrible person. I'm not saying that. I'm looking out for myself and my well being. If i get to the point where i can't be friends with you anymore, please don't be mad.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My social history

In my teens my attempts at a social life consisted of me going through my ‘school friends’ names and phone numbers I had in my phone book (not the yellow pages but an actual phone book with phone numb

Dear B

Thank you 'B' you may just be in my story but you've been my bestie in every story for the last 8 years. In the dream writing world we do lots of fun stuff together. You've painted my nails. Done my h

The Virus

Pretty much…it’s like what’s the point of anything… we’re all just gonna get the virus and die anyway. This seed of knowledge wasn’t my own. This idea was formed by others. I was pretty positive, hope

bottom of page